verses for meditation

image1 copyMorning meditation on the daily readings or the Office is the soil where we plant the seeds of our day. There, a part of us remains hidden, in Christ, protected, untouched by the worldy concerns of the day.

I do my best to carry a verse or two with me as I move through the day. These verses become a doorway back to that place of accompaniment. And I return there throughout the day when I am in need of silence or support.

Here are few from today.

“The Rising Sun has come to visit us to guide our feet in the way of peace.” Luke 1:78,79

“And how can they believe in him of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone to preach? And how can people preach unless they are sent. As it is written, How beautiful are the feet of those who bring the good news!” Romans 10:14,15

“To support one another in the things of the spirit is the true sign of good will between brothers (and sisters), of loving kinship and sincere affection.” St. John Chrysostom

“Immediately they left their nets and followed him.” Matthew 4:19

Leave a comment